Gluten Free Foods

50+ Healthy Gluten Free Foods That You Can Eat

Total
1
Shares

Gluten is a kind of protein group found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. Gluten helps in maintaining the moisture and elasticity of the food so that the shape of the food is maintained. Additionally, it gives a chewy texture to slices of bread and causes it to rise.

Gluten is considered safe for many people, however for some, it can be problematic, especially for those who are prone to a gluten allergy or celiac disease, so it should be avoided by such people to prevent any sort of adverse effects.

There are plenty of foods that are made up of gluten and thus require a label check by those who are prone to gluten insensitivity. But, there are still some foods that are completely gluten-free and you don’t need to perform any checks before consuming those foods.

So, if you are allergic to gluten or just want to avoid it in your diet, this article will be of great help to you. Through this article, we will introduce you to a list of some gluten-free foods!

Whole Grains

Although some whole grains contain gluten most of them are free of it. One can figure out whether the grain consists of gluten or not by referring to the product’s label at the back.

Some gluten-free whole grains can also be equipped with gluten if they are being produced at the same facility where the gluten-based whole grains are produced.

This happens due to cross-contamination. Therefore, it’s important to always look for the label before purchasing the product.

Gluten-Free Whole Grains:

  1. Wild rice
  2. Brown rice
  3. Quinoa
  4. Millet
  5. Teff
  6. Sorghum
  7. Buckwheat
  8. Oats
  9. Arrowroots
  10. Tapioca
  11. Amaranth

Gluten Based Whole Grains

  1. Wheat- all varieties of wheat such as graham, farro, durum, spelt, Kamut and wheat berries, etc.
  2. Rye
  3. Barley
  4. Triticale

These gluten-based grains are usually used to produce pasta, crackers, cereals, and bread, etc.

Whole Grains - Gluten Free Food
Whole Grains – Gluten Free Food

Fruits And Veggies

The natural and organic form of fruits and veggies is free of gluten, however, the processed and preserved version of fruits and veggies may consist of gluten. This is often done to provide thick consistency and flavouring to the fruits and veggies.

Malt, modified wheat starch, maltodextrin, and hydrolyzed wheat protein, etc. are some gluten-based ingredients that get added to processed veggies and fruits.

Gluten Free Fruits and Veggies:

  1. Apples
  2. Bananas
  3. Berries
  4. Pears
  5. All citrus fruits
  6. Peaches
  7. Cauliflower, broccoli
  8. Green leafy veggies like kale, spinach, and chard
  9. Starch-based veggies like corn, potatoes, and squash
  10. Onions
  11. Bell peppers
  12. Radishes
  13. Carrots
  14. Mushrooms
  15. Green beans
Fruits and Vegetables Which May Contain Gluten Are:
  1. Canned fruits and vegetables
  2. Frozen fruits and vegetables
  3. Dried fruits and vegetables
  4. Pre-chopped fruits and vegetables
Fruits and Veggies - Gluten Free Food
Fruits and Veggies – Gluten Free Food

Proteins

Proteins are present in a variety of foods including both plant and animal-based sources.

Majority of these foods are gluten-free but some foods might contain gluten-based ingredients like flour, soy sauce and malt vinegar, etc. which provides flavouring to the foods.

Some Gluten Free Proteins Are:

  1. Seeds and nuts.
  2. Poultry like chicken and turkey.
  3. Red meat like pork, lamb, beef, and bison.
  4. Seafood like shellfish, freshwater fishes, and scallops.
  5. Legumes like lentils, peas, beans, and peanuts.
  6. Soy foods like tofu and edamame etc.

Proteins That Might Contain Gluten:

  1. Processed meats, such as hot dogs, pepperoni, sausage, salami, and bacon.
  2. Lunch meats or cold cuts.
  3. Meat substitutes, such as vegetarian burgers.
  4. Proteins that have been combined with sauces or seasonings.
  5. Ground meats.
  6. Ready-to-eat proteins.

Proteins That Contain Gluten Are:

  1. Seitan.
  2. Breaded fish, meat, and poultry.
  3. Proteins combined with wheat-based soy sauce.
Protein - Gluten Free Food
Protein – Gluten Free Food

Dairy Foods

The majority of dairy products are free from gluten but flavoured and additive based products should always be checked for gluten. Malt, modified food starch, and thickeners are some gluten-based ingredients that are often used in dairy products.

Gluten Free Dairy Products:

  1. Cheese
  2. Butter and ghee
  3. Milk
  4. Yogurt
  5. Sour cream
  6. Cottage cheese
  7. Cream
Dairy Products That May Contain Gluten Are:
  1. Yogurt and flavoured milk
  2. Cheese products are processed like cheese sauces and spread
  3. Ice creams
Dairy Products With Gluten:
  1. Malted milk drinks
Dairy Food - Gluten Free Food
Dairy Food – Gluten Free Food

Oils And Fats

Oils and fats are free from gluten, naturally. However, at times an additive containing gluten may be mixed with oils and fats to provide flavour and thick consistency.

Some Gluten Free Fats and Oils Are:
  1. Coconut oil
  2. Butter and ghee
  3. Olives and olive oil
  4. Avocados and avocados oil
  5. Seeds and vegetable oils like sunflower oil, sesame oil, and canola oil
Fats and Oils Which May Contain Gluten Are:

Note: Do check the label to confirm the gluten addition.

  1. Cooking sprays
  2. Oils with added flavours
Oils and Fats - Gluten Free Food
Oils and Fats – Gluten Free Food

Beverages And Drinks

There are many drinks and beverages which are gluten-free and can be enjoyed by those with gluten sensitivity. But, some drinks come with gluten additives including some alcoholic beverages. Barley, malt, and many other gluten-based grains are added in such drinks and beverages.

Gluten Free Beverages Include:
  1. Water
  2. Coffee
  3. Tea
  4. Pure fruit juice
  5. Sports and energy drinks
  6. soda
  7. Alcoholic drinks like beer made with gluten-free grains like sorghum or buckwheat, wine and hard ciders
  8. Lemonade
Beverages Which Might Contain Gluten Are:
  1. Beverages with added flavours or mix-ins such as cold coffees
  2. Distilled liquors such as vodka, whiskey and gin
  3. Pre-made smoothies and shakes
Beverages That Contain Gluten:
  1. Beers, ales, and lagers
  2. Non-distilled liquors
  3. Malt beverages such as wine coolers
Beverages and Drinks - Gluten Free Food
Beverages and Drinks – Gluten Free Food

Spices, Condiments And Sauces

Most of the spices, condiments, and sauces come with gluten. However, some of them are naturally gluten-free but gluten-based ingredients like enhancers, stabilizers, and emulsifiers are added to them.

The most common gluten-based ingredients used in spices, sauces, and condiments are malt, wheat flour, modified food scratch, and maltodextrin.

Gluten Free Spices, Sauces, and Condiments Are:
  1. Coconut aminos sauce
  2. Tamari sauce
  3. Apple cider vinegar, white vinegar, and distilled vinegar
Spices, Sauces, and Condiments Which May Contain Gluten Are:
  1. Worcestershire sauce
  2. Ketchup and mustard
  3. Tomato sauce
  4. Barbecue sauce
  5. Relish and pickles
  6. Mayonnaise
  7. Pasta sauce
  8. Dry spices
  9. Salad dressing
  10. Salsa
  11. Marinades
  12. Stock and bouillon cubes
  13. Rice vinegar
  14. Gravy and stuffing mixes
Spices, Sauces, and Condiments Containing Gluten Are:
  1. Wheat-based soy sauce
  2. Teriyaki sauce
  3. Malt vinegar
Spices Condiments and Sauces - Gluten Free Food
Spices Condiments and Sauces – Gluten Free Food
List of Ingredients and Additives Which May Indicate That the Product Contains Gluten.
  1. Malt-based ingredients such as malt vinegar, malt extract, and malt syrup.
  2. Modified food starch and maltodextrin, made from wheat.
  3. Teriyaki and soy sauce.
  4. Gluten stabilizer.
  5. Emulsifiers.
  6. Wheat-based ingredients such as wheat flour and wheat protein.
Summary:

There is no need to be disappointed if you have a gluten intolerance as there are still plenty of foods which can be enjoyed to ensure a balanced and tasty diet. Most of the foods are naturally gluten-free such as legumes, fruits, veggies, some whole grains, dairy foods, poultry, fish, and meats.

But, foods such as rye, wheat, processed/canned foods, and even oats are filled with gluten. Although oats are gluten-free, cross-contamination can cause gluten addition in it, therefore, always make sure to check the label at the back.

With this list of some healthy and yet gluten-free food, you will be able to make a choice amongst different gluten-free food varieties and enjoy every meal with the same delight!

  • Was this article helpful?
  • YesNo
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like